Daptone Gold II

Leave a comment

September 18, 2015 by Nigel

Daptone Records released its first compilation of classics from the label back in 2009. That first volume was a showcase for the label presenting the very best of what the modern day funk and soul scene has to offer.

This second volume, Daptone Gold II is well overdue and features previously unreleased material and vinyl 45 only releases. It’s a stellar line-up that includes label favourites Sharon Jones and The Dap-kings, Charles Bradley, Antibalas, Menahan Street Band, The Budos Band and more.

One of the previously unreleased tracks on the compilation is “You Got To Move” by Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens and you can check it out right here.

Daptone Gold II tracklist:

1. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings – “Better Things To Do”
2. Charles Bradley (Featuring Menahan Street Band) – “Strictly Reserved For You”
3. Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens – “Sinner”
4. Saun & Starr – “Hot Shot”
5. Antibalas – “Dirty Money
6. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings – “Inspiration Information”
7. Menahan Street Band – “The Traitor”
8. Charles Bradley – “Heartaches And Pain”
9. The Budos Band – “Unbroken, Unshaven”
10. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings – “Retreat!”
11. The Sugarman 3 – “Witches Boogaloo”
12. Saun & Starr – “Look Closer (Can’t You See The Signs?)”
13. Menahan Street Band – “Keep Coming Back”
14. Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings – “I Learned The Hard Way”
15. The Sugarman 3 – “Got To Get Back To My Baby”
16. The Budos Band – “Aphasia”
17. The Como Mamas – “Out Of The Wilderness”
18. Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings – “Little Boys With Shiny Toys”
19. Naomi Shelton & The Gospel Queens – “You Got To Move”
20. Charles Bradley & LaRose Jackson – “Luv Jones”
21. The Dap-Kings – “Thunderclap”

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: