Guest Mix 001: Ben Gibson

Leave a comment

January 8, 2016 by Nigel

Throughout 2016 we will be featuring Guest DJ Mixes from the best DJ’s the Funk, Soul and Jazz scene has to offer.


For our first guest mix we are honored to bring you a set from DJ Ben Gibson. Ben runs the Mo Soul blog and is the resident DJ at The Hit, Git and Split a bi-weekly Funk, Soul, Ska and 50s Rhythm & Blues night in Hackney Wick, London.

Ben has been collecting records for over 25 years and has been a DJ for about 20 of those. His first love was Hip Hop, he says he “found watching DJs like Q-Bert and The Invisibl Skratch Piklz absolutely fascinating!” These days his record collection is well and truly steeped in original rhythm and blues, soul, funk and ska. He lists tracks such as Ernie & The Top Notes – Dap Walk and Betty Harris – 12 Red Roses in his all time top 5 records.

Hit Git & Split Forthcoming Dates:

Saturday 19th December 2015
Saturday 16th January 2016
Saturday 30th January 2016
Saturday 13th February 2016
Saturday 27th February 2016
Saturday 12th March 2016
Saturday 26th March 2016
Saturday 9th April 2016
Saturday 23rd April 2016
Saturday 7th May 2016
Saturday 21st May 2016

Follow Ben on Twitter and Facebook.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: