New Music Volume 7

Leave a comment

July 23, 2016 by Nigel

New Music Volume 7 features new material from Lack of Afro, Quantic, Fort Knox Five ft Joe Quarterman, Marta Ren & The Groovelets and Nick Pride and The Pimptones.

We also have new material taken from the highly anticipated new LP from San Lazaro on Hope Street Recordings.

Please support these artists by purchasing the music you love.



1. The Fightnrs – Nothing More To Say

The Firghtnrs - Nothing More To SayThe Frightnrs are the latest outfit to have been signed up to the world’s leading funk and soul record label Daptone Records.

A slight departure from the usual sound the label is know for. The Frightnrs have brought their reggae vibes to the label. But as with everything that Daptone put out there is a strong soulful element to their tracks.

Record Label: Daptone Records // Release Date: 02 September 2016

2. The Tibbs – Next Time

The Tibbs - Next TimeThe Tibbs are one of the most exciting new bands to have come out of the soul scene for some time.

From the Netherlands and signed to the ever popular Record Kicks label. “Next Time” is the first single to be taken from their debut album “Takin Over”. The Tibbs bring influences of soul, ska and rhythm and blues all sewn together with a modern twist – Watch this band, big things to come!

Record Label: Record Kicks  // Release Date: 01 April 2016

3. Lack of Afro ft Juliette Ashby – All My Love

Lack of Afro ft Juliette Ashby - All My LoveLack of Afro is back with new music for 2016. “All My Love” is taken from his latest album “Hello Baby” released on his own imprint – LOA Records.

This is classic modern soul with real crossover potential.

Juliette Ashby is a new name to us, but we love her voice and hope to hear lots more from the singer.

Record Label: LOA Records // 01 April 2016

4. East Row Rabble – Strawberries & Cream

East Row Rabble = Strawberries and CreamHailing from Canberra, Australia. East Row Rabble is a conglomerate of 4 local bands. It brings together members of Beth and Ben, Brass Knuckle Brass Band, Moochers Inc, and After Hollywood.

This combo delivers an extraordinary sound fusing funk, ska, blues and soul. “Strawberries & Cream” has a catchy hook that will be ringing in your head for days!

Record Label: Not On Label // Release Date: 11 March 2016

5. The Leonard Jones Potential – Babylon Baby

The Leonard Jones Potential Babylon BabyThe Leonard Jones Potential have been blowing away audiences since they formed in 2006. The scottish nice-piece outfit fuse funk, soul and pop. New single “Babylon Baby” showcases a very tight band and we love those vocals from Meeshelle Newell. This is a band that you just know would be great live, and we for one would love to see them hit Aussie shores.

Record Label: Not On Label // 18 May 2016

6. The Maytags – Love Lines

The May Tags - Love LinesThis seven piece from Iowa take inspiration from Daptone, Stax and Al Green to name a few.

Love Lines is taken from their first full length album. This instrumental track begins with laid back horns, then the keys kick in and then those horns are back. Soon you’ll find that your head is nodding in time. It’s hard to define – part funk, part jazz, part blues and with a whole lotta soul.

Record Label: ?? / 01 July 2016

7. San Lazaro – La Ola

San Lazaro - La Despedida“La Ola” is the second single from San Lazaro’s Album “La Despedida”. Based in Melbourne, Australia San Lazaro have been playing and writing original Latin music for over a decade.

“La Ola” is a heavily influenceed cumbia masterpiece. All twangy guitars, and hauting vocals and certainly wouldn’t be out of place in a Tarantino soundtrack!

Record Label: Hope Street Recordings // Release Date: 22 July 2016

8. Quantic Presenta Flowering Inferno ft U-Roy & Alice Russell – A Life Worth Living

Quantic Presenta Flowering Inferno-A Life Worth LivingQuantic is back once again with his tropical dub-infused Flowering Inferno project. “A Life Worth Living” is taken from new album “1000 Watts” and sees Quantic team up with long time collaborator Alice Russell and Jamaican reggae legend U-Roy.

A truly international track the instrumental was laid down in LA, Alice Russell’s vocals were recorded in London before U-Roy added his part in Jamaica.

Record Label: Tru Thoughts // Release Date: 13 May 2016

9. Crowd Company – Are You Feeling It

Crowd Company - Are You Feeling It“Are You Feeling It” is taken from Crowd Company’s debut album “Now or Never”, released in 2014 and we can’t quite believe we missed this when it came out.

We’re glad we’ve finally caught up with this 8-piece’s hammond-led take on vintage funk. The album features appearances by Alan Evans (Soulive) and Joe Tatton (The New Mastersounds).

Record Label: Proper Music Group // Release Date: 14 April 2014

10. Fort Knox Five ft Joe Quarterman – Don’t Go

Fort Knox Five ft Joe Quarterman - Don't GoFort Knox Five have teamed up with funk legend Joe Quarterman. The Washington DC natives linked up through the DC Funk Parade festival. Fort Knox Five managed to convince Quarterman back in the studio to record a new song.

The result, “Don’t Go” is the meeting ground where classic funk meets modern day dancefloor bomb.

Record Label: Fort Knox Five Recordings // Release Date: 06 May 2016

11. The Traffic – White Lines

The Traffic - White LinesThe Traffic features members from two of Australia’s premier funk/soul bands; The Bamboos and Cookin on 3 Burners.

White Lines is a hard funk b-boy instrumental cover of the Grandmaster Flash hip-hop classic.

This one is squarely aimed at the dancefloor and we defy you not to move your feet to this funky number.

Record Label: Choi Records // Release Date: 11 May 2016

12. Marta Ren & The Groovelets – Don’t Look

Marta Ren and The Groovelets - Don't look“Don’t Look” is taken from Marta Ren & The Groovelets debut album “Stop Look Listen” out now on Record Kicks.

It’s taken 3 years since the bands first single for their debut long player to be released, but boy has it been worth the wait!

Marta Ren, has been described as the new Marva Whitney. High praise indeed!

Record Label: Record Kicks // Release Date: 19 February 2016

13. Nick Pride & The Pimptones – Gotta Leave The Lady Alone

Nick Pride and The Pimptones - Gotta Leave The Lady AloneNick Pride & The Pimptones return with their second album on Légère Recordings.

We’ve been huge fans of Nick Pride & The Pimptones since first seeing them perform at The Mostly Jazz, Funk & Soul Festival some years ago.

They’ve come a long way since those days. “Gotta Leave The Lady Alone” sees the band in fine form. It’s sophisticated modern soul with a jazz twist.

Record Label: Légère Recordings // Release Date: 03 June 2016

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: